EduClaytion

Pop Culture & The Meaning of Life

Memorial Day Tribute: The Legend of “Bun” Troy

Americans set aside Memorial Day to remember the sacrifices of current and past servicemen and women. The last Monday in May also kicks off the summer season. So here’s a small tribute on a beautiful day.

Sorry about the loud wind for a few seconds early on. We were fighting some tough ambient noise.

The 1912 Detroit Tigers team that Bun Troy played on was notable for a couple reasons. First, Troy was teammate to Ty Cobb–one of the greatest and nastiest ballplayers who ever lived. During a May game in Manhattan that year Cobb charged into the stands after a fan who had been taunting and insulting him all afternoon. Cobb beat the man–a political hack named Claude Lucker–mercilessly and was suspended. The Tigers players went on the first baseball strike to protest.

1912 was also the first season the team played in Tigers Stadium. On April 20 that year, Shoeless Joe Jackson of Cleveland became the first player to ever score a run in that stadium.

Baseball is a game of statistics, so here’s one for you. In total, five Major League Baseball players died in World War I.

Americans served alongside brave fighters from many countries during those World Wars. England, Canada, France, Russia, Australia and more sent some of their best citizens to challenge aggressions and defend freedom. We all remember in different ways but universally appreciate the willingness of someone to sacrifice their life for others.

I wrote this Memorial Day tribute last year to honor a few men who went above and beyond the call of duty in ways that are nearly impossible to grasp. Check out their stories and find some more from the folks around you. They’re pretty amazing.

I’d love to see some more great tributes so leave any such links you have written or found in the comments below.

Who do you know that’s served? Feel free to leave their name here today.

May 30, 2011 - Posted by | Education, Life

22 Comments »

  1. Great tribute to our veterans, and what an interesting story. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Tributes to veterans: My great uncle died in WWII. I did a memorial to him on my blog today. Both my grandfathers served our country in WWII. My uncle served our country in Vietnam as a medic (two tours–can you imagine?). My husband served at the DMZ in Korea for a year, and by brother-in-law served for a year in Iraq. They’re all heroes in my book.

    Comment by catierhodes | May 30, 2011 | Reply

  2. This is a great tribute, Clay! I doubt I would’ve despised history so much if I’d had teachers like you. This is fascinating!

    My Grandpa and Uncle Bob served in the Air Force flew in Vietnam. My Grandma was a flight nurse for the AF. My Aunt Ginger served overseas with the AF. My Dad served as a submariner in the Navy. I have countless friends who’ve served in all branches, including 3 former students who are now officers. I value the commitment and sacrifice they’ve each made!

    Comment by Kim Wilson | May 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Wow, that’s quite a military group. Every person who serves deserves our thanks.

      Comment by educlaytion | May 30, 2011 | Reply

  3. Thanks for a great tribute. It was upbeat and I needed that today.

    Comment by J H | May 30, 2011 | Reply

    • I’m glad you enjoyed JH. Thanks for commenting.

      Comment by educlaytion | May 30, 2011 | Reply

  4. I see this Civil War monument with the Union soldier. But holy you know what breaks out over statues re Civil War Confederate soldiers. The winners write the history, huh? Ted Williams served 3 years WW2 and two years Korea. Can you imagine what 5 additional years of stats would have been? And he was at his peak.

    Comment by carldagostino | May 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Yup, Joey D, Bob Feller and others gave time to WWII, but Teddy certainly gave the most. His stats would’ve been untouchable.

      Comment by educlaytion | May 30, 2011 | Reply

  5. I LOVE the concept of “Dash.” What a marvelous graveyard and a beautiful tribute. Thanks, Clay.

    Comment by Piper Bayard | May 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Piper. I’ll probably resurrect that book someday and really try to do something with it. The title worked nicely on two levels. It’s about a guy who oversees a cemetery. Go figure.

      Comment by educlaytion | May 30, 2011 | Reply

  6. ah! Awesome story. THanks so much for sharing this tribute.
    AND, I want to read your novel. It sounds awesome. Great concept! 🙂

    Comment by ellieswords | May 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Ellster. Maybe I’ll bring it back sometime and make a go of it.

      Comment by educlaytion | June 1, 2011 | Reply

  7. I am ashamed to say that we did the “launch into summer thing” yesterday. It has been miserable and rainy for the entire month of May and yesterday the sun came out, so the entire family came over.

    That said, I have had many vets as former students. And I have have uncles who have served. I know doctors who have served as far back as Korea and as recently as Iraq. These people are to be admired.

    I honestly don’t understand why we as a nation don’t do something on a daily basis to make us remember that we are actively involved in several conflicts – if for no other reason to remember the sacrifices of the men and women who serve our country. Great post.

    Comment by Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson | May 31, 2011 | Reply

    • I think many people do live with that constant awareness, but I don’t know how you get an entire nation to thing in that way. We’ve been in some conflict or another for a century straight now. Thanks for your thoughts.

      Comment by educlaytion | June 1, 2011 | Reply

  8. Dash=coolest concept ever. Seriously.

    I love mini-biographies, like the one you gave in the video. It’s why I like reading obituaries. I think the most interesting question out there is “What’s Your Story?”

    Thanks for telling one.

    Comment by Leanne Shirtliffe (Ironic Mom) | May 31, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Leanne. Yeah, that story is one of so many that I learned in my time at the cemetery.

      Comment by educlaytion | June 1, 2011 | Reply

  9. Most excellent. Hee-rose. Says the southerner.

    I’ve been a military brat my whole life. Officers include: my grandfather, my dad, my brother, my brother-in-law, my brother-in-law’s brother, my aunt, my uncle, my best friend from high school.

    Comment by Meet the Buttrams | May 31, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Jess. Do you have that much of a drawl? Funny.

      Comment by educlaytion | June 1, 2011 | Reply

  10. Good post, man. Great story. Thankful for all who have served and are serving.

    Comment by seekingpastor | June 1, 2011 | Reply

  11. Gosh! Born a German die an American. Love the name “Bun” Troy. Troy with buns. 🙂

    Comment by Marilag Lubag | June 2, 2011 | Reply

    • That’s rights. What an interesting life huh?

      Comment by educlaytion | June 4, 2011 | Reply


Jump into the discussion!